IBA Announces 2020 Legislative Service Award Recipients

The Independent Bakers Association is pleased to announce it will award its 2020 Horst G. Denk Legislative Service Award to The Honorable Chuck Fleischmann (R-TN) and Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ), two members of the U.S. House of Representatives.  

Congressmen Fleischmann and Gottheimer represent districts where food manufacturers are able to thrive and employ thousands of American workers.  Throughout their tenure, they have exemplified service and dedication to family-owned businesses in the wholesale baking industry, including reforming the outdated and costly Farm Bill sugar program and committing to support bipartisan infrastructure initiatives.   The legislative service award is named for Horst G. Denk, owner of Denk Baking in Brooklyn, New York.  Throughout his career, Horst was politically active and served as IBA’s Executive Committee Chairman.  The award is given annually to one democratic and one republican legislator.  Past recipients include Senator Bob Dole (R-KS), then-Congressman Mike Pence (R-IN), Senator Robert Byrd (D-WV) and then-Congressman Chuck Schumer (D-NY). As part of IBA's first ever virtual Annual Convention this June, member-companies will gather via web conference along with the recipients to commemorate the award.